

THE BLACKPOOL COUNCIL ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

15 May 2017, 2.00 pm in the Council Chamber

Extended Order of Proceedings

1. Seating

Council members and invited guests to their seats in the body of the Chamber, prior to the start of the meeting.

2. The Mayor enters the Council Chamber

Actual order of entry: Mayor, Chief Executive and Chaplain

Seating:

Mayor (Councillor Kath Rowson)

To her place on the dais

Chief Executive (Neil Jack)

To his place on the dais

Chaplain (Reverend Simon Cox)

To his place in the Chamber

NOTE: The Mayor Elect (Councillor Ian Coleman), the Mayoress Elect (Mrs Mavis

Coleman), to remain in the Parlour

3. Prayers – Reverend Simon Cox

BUSINESS:

4. Apologies for absence

5. The Election of the Mayor of the Council

To propose: Councillor Mark Smith Councillor Debbie Coleman

This will then be voted upon.

After the election of the Mayor:

Ex-Mayor (Councillor Kath Rowson), Chief Executive, Ex-Mayoress (Ms Joan Goldin), Deputy Mayor (Councillor Gary Coleman), Deputy Mayoress (Councillor Debbie Coleman), Proposer (Councillor Mark Smith), seconder (Councillor Debbie Coleman) and Mayor's Chaplain (Reverend Augusta Gibrill) to the Mayor's Parlour.

NOTE: At this juncture the meeting will be temporarily adjourned whilst the Parlour ceremony takes place.

Parlour ceremony:

Investiture of the Mayor (and Mayoress) with the Chains of Office.

The Ex-Mayor (Councillor Kath Rowson) to present a bouquet to the Ex-Mayoress (Ms Joan Goldin)

NOTES:

- 1. After the Investiture of the newly appointed Mayor, the Proposer (Councillor Mark Smith), the newly appointed Mayoress (Mrs Mavis Coleman), the Ex-Mayoress (Ms Joan Goldin), to return to their places in the body of the Chamber.
- 2. The Deputy Mayor Elect (Councillor Gary Coleman) to remain in the Mayor's Parlour along with the Deputy Mayoress Elect (Councillor Debbie Coleman). During this time, the Civic Attendant will invest the Deputies with the Chains of Office, prior to the Deputy Mayor being announced into the chamber, following his election.

6. Entry of the new Mayor

Actual order of entry:

Mayor (Councillor Ian Coleman), Ex-Mayor (Councillor Kath Rowson), Chief Executive (Neil Jack) and Mayor's Chaplain (Reverend Augusta Gibrill).

Seating:

Mayor (Councillor Ian Coleman) To his place on the dais

Ex-Mayor (Councillor Kath Rowson) To her seat adjacent to the Mayor

Chief Executive (Neil Jack)

To his seat adjacent to the Ex-Mayor

Mayor's Chaplain (Reverend Augusta To her seat adjacent to the Chief

Gibrill) Executive

7. The Mayor (Councillor Ian Coleman) to make the Declaration of Acceptance of the corporate office of Mayor

8. The Appointment of the Deputy Mayor of the Council

To propose: The Worshipful the Mayor (Councillor Ian Coleman)

To second: Councillor Simon Blackburn

This will then be voted upon.

9. The Mayor's Attendant to announce the Deputy Mayor

The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Gary Coleman) to enter from the Mayor's Parlour with the Deputy Mayoress (Councillor Debbie Coleman), both of whom go to their normal seats in the Chamber.

- 10. The Mayor to ask the Deputy Mayor to make the Declaration of Acceptance of the corporate office of Deputy Mayor
- 11. The Mayor to address the Council and ladies and gentleman of the town
- 12. Speeches of congratulations to the incoming Mayor: Councillors Simon Blackburn and Tony Williams to speak
- 13. Bürgermeisterin Monika Budke will pass on her congratulations on behalf of the people of Bottrop

- 14. Bürgermeisterin Monika Budke to present the Mayoress (Mrs Mavis Coleman) and the Deputy Mayoress (Councillor Debbie Coleman) with bouquets, on behalf of the people of Bottrop
- 15. Appreciation of the ex-Mayor (Councillor Kath Rowson)

To propose: Councillor Simon Blackburn

To second: Councillor Amy Cross

This will then be voted upon.

- 16. Presentation of a bouquet and gift by the Leader of the Council (Councillor Simon Blackburn) to the ex-Mayor (Councillor Kath Rowson)
- 17. The ex-Mayor (Councillor Kath Rowson) to reply to the Resolution of Appreciation

Invited guests retire for light refreshments.

Business in the Chamber proceeds according to the Council summons.

Distribution:

All Members of the Council
Mayor's Chaplain – Reverend Simon Cox
Chief Executive and all members of the Corporate Leadership Team
Director of Governance and Partnerships
Head of Democratic Governance
Democratic Governance Senior Adviser
Civic and Member Services Officer
Civic Attendants x 3